Topic of the Week – PR Writing – Halloween

I absolutely love Halloween! I love the decorations, the costumes, the candy and treats, and especially the movies!! My mom has always been great at holidays. She gets just as excited as kids do around the holiday season which has resulted in her being a big kid and passing her enthusiasm down to me. We spend a lot of time decorating the house, making treats and watching holiday movies together. I would say some of the greatest times I’ve had bonding with my mom are the times we are preparing for the holidays.

One reason I think I love Halloween so much is because it means the beginning of fall (my favorite season) and the beginning of the holiday season. When Halloween comes around I think to myself, “Okay now it’s Halloween, then it will be Thanksgiving, and then CHRISTMAS!!! And after Christmas, it’s my birthday on January 6! Even my name reminds me of the holidays! My name, Natalie, means Christmas child. I was due on Christmas day, but overshot that mark by two weeks.

Another reason I think I love Halloween is that I have always been interested in witches, warlocks, vampires, werewolves, goblins, and all around magic. I even have plans to visit St. Helen’s, Oregon one day. The Disney Channel movie Halloweentown was filmed in St. Helen’s and the town puts on a month long festival every year called Spirit of Halloweentown. It’s literally Halloween there for the entire month of October! I also want to visit Salem, Massachusetts because they supposedly go all out for Halloween too and because the town makes me think of my other favorite Halloween movie, Hocus Pocus. I plan to one day visit Whidbey Island in Coupeville Washington because that is where some of the scenes from my all time favorite movie, Practical Magic, was filmed. The town looks very interesting and a great place to visit.

I do still dress up for Halloween and if I am home with my parents I will help pass out candy to trick or treaters. But, I usually go to a Halloween party or to the Halloween Horror Nights at Wild Adventures in Valdosta. This year I will be going to Wild Adventures on Halloween to be scared by their “Terror in the Wild” themed haunted park.

My family and sometimes my friends get together and make a day of carving and painting pumpkins to put on the porch. carve and paint multiple pumpkins for Halloween so my porch usually has about 6-8 pumpkins on it every year. My family and sometimes my friends get together and make a day of carving and painting pumpkins to put on the porch.

My favorite Halloween memory was when I was in middle school and I invited my closest friends to go trick or treating with me and then spend the night at my house afterwards. My mom helped all of us with our costumes and makeup. My dad raked up all of the leaves in our backyard and before we went trick or treating, we all went outside and jumped and played in the piles of leaves. My mom took pictures of us and they turned out to be some hilarious pictures. Then my parents took all of trick or treating in my neighborhood and afterwards we ate our candy and watched Halloween movies the rest of the night. Halloween is a holiday where it seems everyone turns into a kid again!

One thought on “Topic of the Week – PR Writing – Halloween

Leave a comment